Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Why bother having "multi-location" option?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Posts
    3

    Why bother having "multi-location" option?

    In the case of new construction (nothing wired yet), consider the following optimization:

    Do not wire for "multi-location", simply wire only one switch (or dimmer) to the light(s).

    • Saves in wiring complexity and cost (both wire and labor) to use 2-wire only.
    • Switching/dimming can still be achieved by using RA2 features.


    Are there flaws or drawbacks in this approach?

  2. #2
    I personally wouldn't do that. Wiring for a standard 3way will futureproof your house much more effectively. In the event RadioRA is taken out decades from now, you would be able to revert to regular 3way switches. If you were to run wireless control only, the second location would have to be a keypad, and there is a possibility that the keypads could be removed when the system is rendered obsolete.

    While there is a reduction in cost, it is inconsequential compared to the cost of a whole house. I'd wire everything, but don't make up the 3way travelers, instead just leave them in the back of the box. This will give you the most flexibility.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    912
    The savings, if any, would be nominal. The electrician will argue that not wiring the house to industry standards creates additional work - planing, supervision, etc. If the electrician was charging $100 for something, not doing it would probably only get you a credit of $50.

    Before I did something as extreme as that, I would look at a panel based system.
    LED, Incorporated
    Raleigh, NC 27614

Similar Threads

  1. Transfer failure at step "Sending Link Command to Processor(s)"
    By GrooveSAN in forum Troubleshooting - HWQS
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-14-2018, 08:14 AM
  2. "Sivoia QS" versus "QED QS" & extending existing system
    By jfmartin in forum General Discussion - Shades
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-27-2018, 07:57 PM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-03-2017, 01:11 PM
  4. "TRANSFER" resets all occupancy sensors to "Enabled"
    By joshg in forum Programming - RA2
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-15-2017, 01:32 PM
  5. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-04-2014, 08:28 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •