Thanks Thanks:  2
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Ring, Caseta and Alexa

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    1

    Ring, Caseta and Alexa

    For a while I was looking for better intergration and more detailed control from what than the IFTTT app could do between the Ring and Lutron Caseta apps.

    I recently received my Echo device and downloaded the Alexa App and found out that it exists using Alexa's Routine settings.

    When the motion detection goes off on my Ring Door Bell, Alexa runs a Routine script where

    (1) Alexa turns on my lights between 5 PM and 5AM.
    (2) Alexa announces that there was motion and the lights were turned on
    (3) Alexa waits X minutes
    (4) Alexa turns off the lights

    You can program multiple routines and variables which I could not do with IFTTT.

    Just wanted to share this with others in case if you were like me.

  2. Thanks randyc, SDR-Mike thanked for this post
  3. #2
    Quote Originally Posted by Auggie28 View Post
    For a while I was looking for better intergration and more detailed control from what than the IFTTT app could do between the Ring and Lutron Caseta apps.I recently received my Echo device and downloaded the Alexa App and found out that it exists using Alexa's Routine settings.When the motion detection goes off on my Ring Door Bell, Alexa runs a Routine script where (1) Alexa turns on my lights between 5 PM and 5AM.(2) Alexa announces that there was motion and the lights were turned on(3) Alexa waits X minutes(4) Alexa turns off the lightsYou can program multiple routines and variables which I could not do with IFTTT. Just wanted to share this with others in case if you were like me.
    How did you get the lights to turn off after X minutes.I have it working but the lights stay on.

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2019
    Posts
    1
    You have to add each smart light or individually into the routine to set the duration and brightness. Selecting a light group will not present the options for the duration on each light. You can select motion or doorbell press to activate the routine.

Similar Threads

  1. Alexa and caseta - won’t work with any commands
    By Grubster in forum 3rd-party Integration - CAS
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-13-2019, 02:19 PM
  2. Alexa & Lutron Caseta use in 2 locations
    By Bdeller in forum 3rd-party Integration - CAS
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-23-2018, 04:10 AM
  3. Alexa stopped working with Caseta switches
    By rsg123 in forum Troubleshooting - CAS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-11-2017, 07:42 AM
  4. RadioRA2 (and QS & Caseta) native Alexa
    By tonyworthington in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-21-2016, 02:37 PM
  5. New flush mount cut in ring for the occ/vac sensor , finally
    By Scottydont in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-20-2014, 03:56 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •