Thanks Thanks:  3
Likes Likes:  7
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: 3way switch thats not?

  1. #1

    3way switch thats not?

    Sorry but trying to wire up a Maestro Sensor switch to the laundry room (already did my closet and pantry) but the laundry room has 3 black wires it appears to be a 3 way switch but it is the only one that operates the light? What am I missing?
    Thanks,

    Lou-

  2. Thanks Justin F. thanked for this post
    Likes Justin F. liked this post
  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1,150
    It sounds like the power is coming into the box and continues on to the next. Sometimes the connection is made on the switch itself. The screw on the side and the stab-in terminal on the back are connected inside the switch.
    LED, Incorporated
    Raleigh, NC 27614

  4. Thanks Justin F. thanked for this post
    Likes Justin F. liked this post
  5. #3
    So do I just treat it like I did the others and join all black wires together or do I have to find out where the "next" switch is and add a companion switch?
    Also, thank you for the reply.

    - - - Updated - - -

    So do I just treat it like I did the others and join all black wires together or do I have to find out where the "next" switch is and add a companion switch?
    Also, thank you for the reply.

  6. Likes Justin F. liked this post
  7. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1,150
    You will need to identify the wire going up to the light. Tie the other two together.
    LED, Incorporated
    Raleigh, NC 27614

  8. #5
    Sorry just one more question, with the wire that goes to the light do I attach that to the Blue wire on the Maestro sensor?
    Thanks

  9. Likes Justin F. liked this post
  10. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    1,150
    No. The blue wire/terminal would be used to communicate with an additional switch (which you don't have). Make sure you cap it off.
    LED, Incorporated
    Raleigh, NC 27614

  11. Thanks Justin F. thanked for this post
    Likes Justin F. liked this post
  12. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by randyc View Post
    No. The blue wire/terminal would be used to communicate with an additional switch (which you don't have). Make sure you cap it off.
    Thank you so much.....it works perfect.

  13. Likes randyc, Justin F. liked this post

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-11-2018, 01:23 PM
  2. 3way illunated dimmer switch
    By CassP in forum General Discussion - Controls
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-04-2017, 10:42 AM
  3. 3way dimer
    By jogechacon in forum Troubleshooting - Controls
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-27-2016, 08:59 PM
  4. Pd-6wcl 3way
    By Neilalp in forum Troubleshooting - CAS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-22-2015, 01:17 PM
  5. 3way 4way 3way dimming leds
    By greenjourneyman in forum General Discussion - LED
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-07-2013, 05:10 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •