Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Two Main Repeaters and Device Separation

  1. #1
    Authorized Lutron Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    513

    Two Main Repeaters and Device Separation

    A designer asked us this question and we thought it would be a good idea to share with the forum community:

    As an Inclusive dealer who will have a RadioRa 2 system with over 100 devices, we would recommend dividing the device count evenly between Main Repeaters rather than having the maximum number of devices on one Main Repeater and just a few on the others.

    For example, a system laid out as:

    MR1 - 70 Devices
    MR2 - 70 Devices

    May transfer faster and maintain better communication than a system laid out as:

    MR1 - 100 Devices
    MR2 - 30 Devices.

    Both configurations will work correctly and should not have issues. But for best practices we would always recommend a slightly more even balance between Repeaters if possible.

  2. Thanks Scottydont thanked for this post
    Likes Scottydont liked this post
  3. #2
    Authorized Lutron Contributor
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    513
    When laying out your repeaters, we would recommend also ensuring that there is at least 2 feet between the antennas of both Main Repeaters. This will ensure there will be no interference on the signal frequency from each Repeater.

    You may also want to consider having the devices grouped Geographiically. For example, on a two story hosue, if you have 60 devices on your first floor and 50 devices on your second floor, it would be of best practice to group each repeater and corresponding auxiliary repeaters and devices by floor.

  4. Likes Kevin P. liked this post
  5. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    4

    Ra ra !!

    You need to divide it a way that if you have a keypad that you want to control a device from that keypad, that device must be on the same repeater of the keypad. So in most cases it would not work to divide per floor or to divide evenly.

  6. #4
    Authorized Lutron Contributor
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    407
    Acculite, we wanted to better explain that in the RadioRA2 system a keypad that is activated on one main repeater does have the ability to control loads that are activated on the second main repeater. We do however recommend that all the devices in a room as all activated to the same main repeater.

  7. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    4
    True a keypad can control a device from another repeater once its activated and programmed. However if you hide a device in a closet and use a keypad in the actual room to control it (as Lutron recommends to do in order to reduce wall acne) when you enter the zone location in the software for that device in the closet only rooms from that repeater will show up not from the other repeater. So if you would to put 150 devices in a remote location as a storage closet you would run into this problem. Therfore you have to think it out how you divide the devices over 2 repeaters as it wuld depend how you layout the devices.

  8. #6
    what happened to the 0ther 10 devices?

  9. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    212
    Quote Originally Posted by Trax95008 View Post
    what happened to the 0ther 10 devices?
    The installer up-sold the customer when they saw how much better the system worked when balanced :-)

Similar Threads

  1. Device Wattage not supported
    By Anna W. in forum Troubleshooting - RA2
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-28-2013, 08:40 AM
  2. Changing device colors
    By Craig W. in forum Design Assistance - RA2
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-16-2013, 05:19 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •