Thanks Thanks:  3
Likes Likes:  2
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Daylight sensor

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    23

    Daylight sensor

    Is there a daylight sensor available for Radio Ra2?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    1,205
    The Radio Powr Savr daylight sensor does not work with RA2. They do have a larger unit taken from the wired commercial sensors that can work with RA2. What are you trying to use the daylighting for? Why not use the timeclock instead?
    Business Development Associate- Design, Sales, Installation, and Programming of Smart Homes for Baker Electric Home Energy
    mbalay@bakerhomeenergy.com
    "Spread the light, brother" -Blake Richetta
    "If you think hiring a professional is expensive, wait until you hire an amateur" -Crustyloafer

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    23
    Maybe I am trying to get too advanced - was trying to do this mostly with light levels as opposed to fixed times.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    1,205
    Quote Originally Posted by texas doc View Post
    Maybe I am trying to get too advanced - was trying to do this mostly with light levels as opposed to fixed times.
    You aren't the first. Would be nice if the IFTTT would work with RA2, then you could accomplish easily. See here for the note and BOM- http://resi.lutron.com/Portals/4/Pro...%20Rev%20A.pdf
    Business Development Associate- Design, Sales, Installation, and Programming of Smart Homes for Baker Electric Home Energy
    mbalay@bakerhomeenergy.com
    "Spread the light, brother" -Blake Richetta
    "If you think hiring a professional is expensive, wait until you hire an amateur" -Crustyloafer

  5. #5
    How IFTTT would know what side the window is facing, what amount of daylight is filtering in, and either or not there is a storm cell just overhead? Daylight sensor for RA2 would be great.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    1,205
    Quote Originally Posted by veeeh View Post
    How IFTTT would know what side the window is facing, what amount of daylight is filtering in, and either or not there is a storm cell just overhead? Daylight sensor for RA2 would be great.
    It wouldn't know which direction, but there is already a recipe for "if it's sunny, close my shades" in IFTTT for Caseta. Not as complex as close certain shades, but effective.
    Business Development Associate- Design, Sales, Installation, and Programming of Smart Homes for Baker Electric Home Energy
    mbalay@bakerhomeenergy.com
    "Spread the light, brother" -Blake Richetta
    "If you think hiring a professional is expensive, wait until you hire an amateur" -Crustyloafer

  7. #7
    Exactly. Closing shades on the other side of the building would make it way too dark in those rooms. Perhaps you could improve that (if it's possible with IFTTT) with conditional - e.g. after 1pm but at least 1 hour before sundown - but it is still a kludge.

  8. #8
    Is there an easy way to use occupancy sensors with RadioRA2 but have them only work during evenings? Or is that already considered conditional logic?

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by geofry View Post
    Is there an easy way to use occupancy sensors with RadioRA2 but have them only work during evenings? Or is that already considered conditional logic?
    You can enable/disable the occupancy sensor in the time clock program.

  10. Thanks wkearney99 thanked for this post
    Likes wkearney99 liked this post
  11. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    1,205
    Quote Originally Posted by Kristina73 View Post
    The questions myself too, no experiences?
    Create a time clock event to set the particular occupancy sensor to an occupancy setting. Then create another time clock event to turn the sensor to it's vacancy setting. Always ensures the lights will go off in an unoccupied space, but only turns lights on for a prescribed period of time defined by the two time clock events.

    Done this plenty of times, customers absolutely love it. If you don't want to use the occupancy sensors, just run Roll Back for that particular room (this works great for closets and pantries- saves $$ by not using a sensor.)
    Business Development Associate- Design, Sales, Installation, and Programming of Smart Homes for Baker Electric Home Energy
    mbalay@bakerhomeenergy.com
    "Spread the light, brother" -Blake Richetta
    "If you think hiring a professional is expensive, wait until you hire an amateur" -Crustyloafer

  12. Thanks Kozino thanked for this post
    Likes Kozino liked this post
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Occupancy Sensor
    By texas doc in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-18-2015, 10:16 PM
  2. LRF3-OCRB-P-WH occupancy sensor Operating during sufficient daylight
    By jwbcinergy in forum Troubleshooting - HWQS
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-11-2015, 03:44 AM
  3. Daylight Control Package: Who has used, and how have you found it?
    By schalliol in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 04-16-2015, 04:01 PM
  4. Disable the daylight saving time in HWQS
    By stevi in forum Programming - HWQS
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-09-2015, 04:24 PM
  5. Daylight Saving Time - Conditional Programming
    By ekimla in forum Programming - HWQS
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-18-2014, 04:35 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •