Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Daylight sensor

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    22

    Daylight sensor

    Is there a daylight sensor available for Radio Ra2?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    666
    The Radio Powr Savr daylight sensor does not work with RA2. They do have a larger unit taken from the wired commercial sensors that can work with RA2. What are you trying to use the daylighting for? Why not use the timeclock instead?
    Residential Lighting and Shading Specialist for CED Escondido

    mbalay@cedescondido.com

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    22
    Maybe I am trying to get too advanced - was trying to do this mostly with light levels as opposed to fixed times.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    666
    Quote Originally Posted by texas doc View Post
    Maybe I am trying to get too advanced - was trying to do this mostly with light levels as opposed to fixed times.
    You aren't the first. Would be nice if the IFTTT would work with RA2, then you could accomplish easily. See here for the note and BOM- http://resi.lutron.com/Portals/4/Pro...%20Rev%20A.pdf
    Residential Lighting and Shading Specialist for CED Escondido

    mbalay@cedescondido.com

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    252
    How IFTTT would know what side the window is facing, what amount of daylight is filtering in, and either or not there is a storm cell just overhead? Daylight sensor for RA2 would be great.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    666
    Quote Originally Posted by veeeh View Post
    How IFTTT would know what side the window is facing, what amount of daylight is filtering in, and either or not there is a storm cell just overhead? Daylight sensor for RA2 would be great.
    It wouldn't know which direction, but there is already a recipe for "if it's sunny, close my shades" in IFTTT for Caseta. Not as complex as close certain shades, but effective.
    Residential Lighting and Shading Specialist for CED Escondido

    mbalay@cedescondido.com

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    252
    Exactly. Closing shades on the other side of the building would make it way too dark in those rooms. Perhaps you could improve that (if it's possible with IFTTT) with conditional - e.g. after 1pm but at least 1 hour before sundown - but it is still a kludge.

  8. #8
    Is there an easy way to use occupancy sensors with RadioRA2 but have them only work during evenings? Or is that already considered conditional logic?

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Posts
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by geofry View Post
    Is there an easy way to use occupancy sensors with RadioRA2 but have them only work during evenings? Or is that already considered conditional logic?
    You can enable/disable the occupancy sensor in the time clock program.

  10. Thanks wkearney99 thanked for this post
    Likes wkearney99 liked this post

Similar Threads

  1. Occupancy Sensor
    By texas doc in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-18-2015, 09:16 PM
  2. LRF3-OCRB-P-WH occupancy sensor Operating during sufficient daylight
    By jwbcinergy in forum Troubleshooting - HWQS
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-11-2015, 02:44 AM
  3. Daylight Control Package: Who has used, and how have you found it?
    By schalliol in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 04-16-2015, 03:01 PM
  4. Disable the daylight saving time in HWQS
    By stevi in forum Programming - HWQS
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-09-2015, 03:24 PM
  5. Daylight Saving Time - Conditional Programming
    By ekimla in forum Programming - HWQS
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-18-2014, 03:35 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •