Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Scene creation in iPhone app

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    5

    Scene creation in iPhone app

    My RA2 lighting system has just been installed and keypads programmed. I'll want to tweak a few scenes with the programmer but I was wondering if there's a way to add scenes using the app? I know I can create events with the app but couldn't find a way to create a new scene without adding keypads (I've assigned all of the buttons on the existing keypads already).

    Any ideas, or is this not possible?

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    603
    It is not possible until you add keypads in the design.
    Residential Lighting and Shading Specialist for CED Escondido

    mbalay@cedescondido.com

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    5
    Thanks for the quick reply. I suspected that although it's unfortunate that you need a keypad button to create a scene. I would think the technology is smart enough to be able to use the app for that. If the app can create an infinite number of events which are just scenes with a predetermined start time, what's the difference between that and a scene that comes on at the touch of a button on your phone ?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    603
    The main repeater is approaching 10 years old. Caseta has the capabilities you are looking for, but limited in scope as far as the devices and size. As far as unlimited events, I think the cap is 256. Haven't met anyone with that many yet... Had a guy come close until we used the third party to eliminate making 81 events in triplicate.
    Residential Lighting and Shading Specialist for CED Escondido

    mbalay@cedescondido.com

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    5
    Thanks again for the explanation.

    I certainly don't need infinity scenes, just a few more than the four keypads will accommodate would be nice. I can't help but be cynical and think the reason for this is so Lutron can sell more keypads, but I don't understand the system nearly enough to say that for sure.

    My dealer felt RA2 was a better option over Caseta for me since I have about 5000 square feet and although I didn't do the whole house now, I'll want to expand the system in the future. We never discussed the specifics of remote control with the app.

    Oh well. I still love the product for what it can do.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    603
    rmemory-
    you can add the keypads in the system without activating an actual device- works the same whether you purchase the keypad or not. There is also the HomeOwner keypad in software version 8.0 and later, completely programmable from the app. Just need to add to the design, no $$ involved unless you have to pay the programmer to come out.
    Residential Lighting and Shading Specialist for CED Escondido

    mbalay@cedescondido.com

  7. Thanks trx250r87 thanked for this post
  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by SanDiegoRep View Post
    rmemory-
    you can add the keypads in the system without activating an actual device- works the same whether you purchase the keypad or not. There is also the HomeOwner keypad in software version 8.0 and later, completely programmable from the app. Just need to add to the design, no $$ involved unless you have to pay the programmer to come out.
    That sounds promising. Seems like a virtual keypad, correct?

    I'll ask my dealer about it.

    Thanks!

  9. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by SanDiegoRep View Post
    rmemory-
    you can add the keypads in the system without activating an actual device- works the same whether you purchase the keypad or not. There is also the HomeOwner keypad in software version 8.0 and later, completely programmable from the app. Just need to add to the design, no $$ involved unless you have to pay the programmer to come out.
    My programmer added a virtual keypad to my app with seven buttons that I can edit. Problem solved!

Similar Threads

  1. Home+ App for iPhone not showing Dynamic Keypads
    By conrad4402 in forum Troubleshooting - HWQS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-08-2016, 10:54 PM
  2. How Do I Report a Bug In the Latest Version of the iPhone App ?
    By KNRWSX in forum General Discussion - HWQS
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-11-2014, 07:14 PM
  3. IPad /iPhone app HC+ / dimmer levels
    By Scottydont in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-22-2014, 07:45 PM
  4. Old iPhone app stops working after processor replacement
    By DHKaplan in forum Troubleshooting - Legacy HW
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-10-2014, 11:44 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •