Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 14 of 14

Thread: Caseta dimmer intall problem

  1. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    2

    Tried all four combinations

    I can’t get any of these combinations to work:

    Dimmer top wire wired to red tagged wire
    Dimmer bottom wire to black and white wires
    2nd switch black and white and red capped

    Dimmer bottom wire wired to red tagged wire
    Dimmer top wire to black and white wires
    2nd switch black and white and red capped

    Dimmer top wire wired to red tagged wire
    Dimmer bottom wire to black and white wires
    2nd switch black and white capped
    2nd switch red capped

    Dimmer bottom wire wired to red tagged wire
    Dimmer top wire to black and white wires
    2nd switch black and white capped
    2nd switch red capped

    All four of those combinations don’t work.

    This sucks. What else should I try?

  2. #12
    I had a very similar behavior to the one described here: replaced a three-way, the lights turned on (at sort of a dim level) but didn't respond to the switch. Tried a bunch of the advice in this thread without luck. I knew the switch was getting power because the LEDs lit up for a reset (tap on three times holding for five seconds on the third tap, then tap three more times once the lights are flashing).

    Ultimately: I tried swapping the bulbs: five 4W LED Candelabras SEEMED like they'd be enough draw to work, and I'd had that working elsewhere in the house, but for whatever reason they weren't enough on this fixture. Replaced with five 6W LED bulbs and everything worked fine. Just replacing ONE bulb was actually enough to get the switch responding, but it still had issues until they were all swapped out (the lights were fine at low dim but flashed at higher ones).

    Anyway, FYI in case that helps anyone else.

  3. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Posts
    1
    I had the same situation while installing the caseta dimmer and 3-way pico remote per the instructions. My work around was I installed a standard 3-way lutron flapper switch where the pico remote would go. Created the loop it needed to work correctly. Now everything is fine.

  4. #14
    I had the exact same symptoms. No LEDs on the Caseta dimmer switch, switch buttons wouldn't work. LED lights on the switch had quick flashes at a rate of about 2/sec.
    Turns out the circuit already had an undervoltage issue. It was fluctuating between 50-90 volts. Never noticed anything because it's usually just LED lights on the circuit. Nothing to do with the switch or how it was wired.
    So make sure the switch is actually getting 120v.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. Adjustable fade rates for Caseta dimmer?
    By Jacob in forum Programming - CAS
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 06-14-2018, 02:29 AM
  2. adding caseta in wall dimmer
    By deanw in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-28-2015, 09:11 AM
  3. de-rating a Caseta Dimmer
    By hgmobile in forum Design Assistance - CAS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-21-2015, 12:02 PM
  4. Problem Activating Dimmer - Please Help!
    By dinom in forum Troubleshooting - RA2
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-09-2015, 07:57 AM
  5. Can you Program a Caseta Dimmer?
    By DougTFC in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-08-2015, 09:29 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •