Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Caseta dimmer intall problem

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    5

    Caseta dimmer intall problem

    I'm trying to install a Caseta dimmer to replace a 3-way circuit. Per the instructions, I've removed one of the existing 3-way switches, trying its 3 wires together. On the other end, I've tied the 2 travelers to one of the dimmer's legs and the third wire to to the other leg.

    When I turn on the circuit, the Caseta dimmer doesn't appear to start. The dimmer's LEDs do not turn on, and the buttons do not do anything. However, the light attached to the dimmer is turns on. If I replace the Caseta dimmer with a basic single pole single throw switch, the circuit works as expected, and I can turn on and off the light. Looking at the voltage across the switch, it's 120 as expected.

    I've tried two different Caseta dimmers (I have a bunch because I'm rewiring this whole floor) and both show the same behavior.

    Any one have any ideas what could be going on?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    398
    Quote Originally Posted by ecopoesis View Post
    I'm trying to install a Caseta dimmer to replace a 3-way circuit. Per the instructions, I've removed one of the existing 3-way switches, trying its 3 wires together. On the other end, I've tied the 2 travelers to one of the dimmer's legs and the third wire to to the other leg.

    When I turn on the circuit, the Caseta dimmer doesn't appear to start. The dimmer's LEDs do not turn on, and the buttons do not do anything. However, the light attached to the dimmer is turns on. If I replace the Caseta dimmer with a basic single pole single throw switch, the circuit works as expected, and I can turn on and off the light. Looking at the voltage across the switch, it's 120 as expected.

    I've tried two different Caseta dimmers (I have a bunch because I'm rewiring this whole floor) and both show the same behavior.

    Any one have any ideas what could be going on?
    ecopoesis,

    What type of lights are being connected to the Caseta Dimmer?
    What is the amount of wattage?

    If using LEDs, verify the bulbs are on the 150W LED/CFL Compatible Bulb List found on www.lutron.com/led. If your are using LED bulbs that are not on that list then unfortunately we cannot guarantee the performance or operation of the those bulbs.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by Kevin P. View Post
    ecopoesis,

    What type of lights are being connected to the Caseta Dimmer?
    What is the amount of wattage?

    If using LEDs, verify the bulbs are on the 150W LED/CFL Compatible Bulb List found on www.lutron.com/led. If your are using LED bulbs that are not on that list then unfortunately we cannot guarantee the performance or operation of the those bulbs.
    They are Philips SlimStyle A19. There are three of them. We use these same lights on many other Caseta dimmers with no problems.

    As I said, the problem isn't with dimming, it's with the Caseta not working at all. When power is applied to a circuit, the light it just on with no LEDs lit on the Caseta. None of the buttons on the Caseta do anything.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    398
    Quote Originally Posted by ecopoesis View Post
    They are Philips SlimStyle A19. There are three of them. We use these same lights on many other Caseta dimmers with no problems.

    As I said, the problem isn't with dimming, it's with the Caseta not working at all. When power is applied to a circuit, the light it just on with no LEDs lit on the Caseta. None of the buttons on the Caseta do anything.
    If you move the dimmers to another circuit that is working, do they still work there? If they work in another circuit then it would indicate an issue with the bulbs, fixture, or wiring.

    Can you change the bulbs out for Incandescent bulbs? If the dimmers work with Incandescent then it would narrow down to a bulb compatibility.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    5
    Did you ever get this working? I am running into the same thing - replacing existing, 3-way, Lutron Maetro (master/slave) which works great for dimming my kitchen Philips led lights. On the Pico side I just capped all three wires per the video. On the switch side I connected one wire to the 'gold' screw side and then capped the remaining 2 wires with the other switch wire. I don't have a ground so I just capped the switch ground wire. When power it applied the lights come on but the switch does nothing.

    Thanks for any help.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    5
    No, I never got this to work. It's frustrating because that is the only light on that floor not on Caseta.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by ecopoesis View Post
    No, I never got this to work. It's frustrating because that is the only light on that floor not on Caseta.

    I had this exact same problem. Two Caseta dimmers, one worked, the other didn't. In my case the dimmer that didn't work was wired directly with the hot and to the pigtail for the dimmer that did work, when it should also have it's own pigtail to the hot. Basically, you need to connect the non working dimmer via the common pigtail to the hot, not directly off it.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    1
    I had the exact same issue. To solve it, instead of bridging all three wires in the same cap on Page 4 Step 13, I capped the tagged (hot) wire separately. This way there was only one hot going into the dimmer. This fixed the issue and allowed the dimmer to start (green leds to light up). I hope this helps!

Similar Threads

  1. Adjustable fade rates for Caseta dimmer?
    By Jacob in forum Programming - CAS
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 02-24-2017, 01:47 PM
  2. adding caseta in wall dimmer
    By deanw in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-28-2015, 09:11 AM
  3. de-rating a Caseta Dimmer
    By hgmobile in forum Design Assistance - CAS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-21-2015, 12:02 PM
  4. Problem Activating Dimmer - Please Help!
    By dinom in forum Troubleshooting - RA2
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-09-2015, 07:57 AM
  5. Can you Program a Caseta Dimmer?
    By DougTFC in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-08-2015, 09:29 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •