Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Adding a plug-in dimmer on top of a switch

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    17

    Adding a plug-in dimmer on top of a switch

    I currently have a switched outlet with two table lamps plugged into it. I would like to add dimming capability to these lamps, just not sure the best way to do so.

    The top half of the receptacle is switched on/off via wall switch, the bottom half is always on. I think if I just replaced the wall switch with a dimmer I'm asking for trouble because there's not enough current flowing, am I correct? If I use a plug in dimmer on top part of the outlet and a Caseta switch, that would give me dimming capability while still maintaining on/off control via the wall switch, but I'd actually have to turn the light on in two spots, at the switch and the plug in dimmer, which is annoying. Would this also result in lag?

    Thoughts on the best way to accomplish this? Thanks.

  2. #2
    Use a plug in dimmer in the bottom outlet. Install a wall mount pico next to the existing switch. Leave the existing switch to control the top outlet.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    17
    Thanks, but the bottom outlet is needed for other electronics and there's no more room in the gang box. I'm feeling like it's just better to leave them switched instead of dimmed if that'll be the most seamless option.

  4. #4
    Authorized Lutron Contributor
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    109
    Quote Originally Posted by Tazplex View Post
    I currently have a switched outlet with two table lamps plugged into it. I would like to add dimming capability to these lamps, just not sure the best way to do so.

    The top half of the receptacle is switched on/off via wall switch, the bottom half is always on. I think if I just replaced the wall switch with a dimmer I'm asking for trouble because there's not enough current flowing, am I correct? If I use a plug in dimmer on top part of the outlet and a Caseta switch, that would give me dimming capability while still maintaining on/off control via the wall switch, but I'd actually have to turn the light on in two spots, at the switch and the plug in dimmer, which is annoying. Would this also result in lag?

    Thoughts on the best way to accomplish this? Thanks.
    Tazplex,

    Another option would be to remove the existing switch in the wall and tie the wires together with a wirenut which would make the top half of the receptacle always on. You could then mount a Pico remote in place of the removed switch and pair it to a plug-in dimmer that you would install in the top half of the receptacle. If you decide to go this route you'll want to be sure to purchase a Pico wall-mount adapter (PICO-WBX-ADAPT) in order to attach the Pico to the wallbox.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by Eric H. View Post
    Tazplex,

    Another option would be to remove the existing switch in the wall and tie the wires together with a wirenut which would make the top half of the receptacle always on. You could then mount a Pico remote in place of the removed switch and pair it to a plug-in dimmer that you would install in the top half of the receptacle. If you decide to go this route you'll want to be sure to purchase a Pico wall-mount adapter (PICO-WBX-ADAPT) in order to attach the Pico to the wallbox.
    Perfect, that will accomplish what I'm after!!

    thanks

Similar Threads

  1. Link wall dimmer to plug dimmer
    By Jwindle in forum Programming - CAS
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 01-11-2017, 10:59 AM
  2. Adaptive Dimmer acting like a Switch
    By JSmall in forum Troubleshooting - RA2
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-17-2014, 09:46 AM
  3. 347v switch/dimmer
    By yan@dytronix.com in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-25-2014, 10:08 AM
  4. Best switch or dimmer for motion lights
    By trx250r87 in forum Design Assistance - RA2
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-28-2014, 02:52 PM
  5. Aurora - Adding a replacement dimmer/switch
    By Blair S. in forum Programming - Controls
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-29-2013, 08:38 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •