Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: 30 foot device limit

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    17

    30 foot device limit

    Hi Everyone,

    Recently moved into a new condo (1100 square feet) and I'm looking at automation options for control of lighting. Having gone the professional route before (Control4) as a previous condo, I feel that DIY solutions are right for me and my budget this time around as Control4 was overkill. I have experience with Z wave previously, and it's both far too flaky, and the design of the switches look too clunky for me.

    Based on the reading I've done here, I think that Caseta can meet the majority of what I'm after. Basic on/off/dim/scene control from a smartphone. Although they would be nice, motion sensors and room by room control are not deal breakers for me, so I'm not sure the upgrade to RA2 is warranted in this case.

    However, I am looking at doing a whole home solution here, albeit within a condo. Total of about 15 dimmers and switches. 1100 square feet as mentioned above, single level with brick and concrete walls. It's an 1800s factory conversion.

    My concern is with a 30 foot device limit. The condo was built with home automation in mind and includes a networking closet for rack equipment. I'd like to store the smart bridge pro in there. Will the switches and dimmers act as repeaters/extenders? The bridge will never be more than 30 feet away from a switch, but will a switch/dimmer repeat the signal if I'm trying to turn on switch that's 100 feet away?

    Are there any other limitations I should be aware of when looking at a whole home approach with Caseta? I am aware of the 50 device limit and will be significantly under this.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    252
    Quote Originally Posted by Tazplex View Post
    Will the switches and dimmers act as repeaters/extenders? The bridge will never be more than 30 feet away from a switch, but will a switch/dimmer repeat the signal if I'm trying to turn on switch that's 100 feet away?
    No, dimmers and switches will not repeat the signal.

    RA2 can have additional repeaters to extend the range of the main repeater.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    815
    Quote Originally Posted by Tazplex View Post
    Hi Everyone,

    Recently moved into a new condo (1100 square feet) and I'm looking at automation options for control of lighting. Having gone the professional route before (Control4) as a previous condo, I feel that DIY solutions are right for me and my budget this time around as Control4 was overkill. I have experience with Z wave previously, and it's both far too flaky, and the design of the switches look too clunky for me.

    Based on the reading I've done here, I think that Caseta can meet the majority of what I'm after. Basic on/off/dim/scene control from a smartphone. Although they would be nice, motion sensors and room by room control are not deal breakers for me, so I'm not sure the upgrade to RA2 is warranted in this case.

    However, I am looking at doing a whole home solution here, albeit within a condo. Total of about 15 dimmers and switches. 1100 square feet as mentioned above, single level with brick and concrete walls. It's an 1800s factory conversion.

    My concern is with a 30 foot device limit. The condo was built with home automation in mind and includes a networking closet for rack equipment. I'd like to store the smart bridge pro in there. Will the switches and dimmers act as repeaters/extenders? The bridge will never be more than 30 feet away from a switch, but will a switch/dimmer repeat the signal if I'm trying to turn on switch that's 100 feet away?

    Are there any other limitations I should be aware of when looking at a whole home approach with Caseta? I am aware of the 50 device limit and will be significantly under this.

    Thanks
    Tazplex- as long as your devices are within the 30' range to the smart bridge, your condo is a perfect example of when to use Caseta. If you get outside of that 30', you could always test to see if it works. Otherwise, you'd have to put the Smart Bridge Pro in a more central location. As long as it's on the network, you'll be fine.
    Business Development Associate for Baker Electric Solar

    mbalay@bakerelectricsolar.com

  4. #4
    @Tazplex: my condo is 1500 sq feet, more rectangular than square and my smart bridge pro is on one side of the condo while a serena shade is on the complete opposite. It's about 40 feet and works flawlessly every morning.

    Also, the interior walls of my building are 8 inches of concrete. So the bridge communicates with the farthest shade through 3 of those walls (2 feet of concrete total) and 40 feet of distance.

    Also, the smart bridge pro is about the size of a pack of cigarette, so it can fit almost anywhere. Nothing like that big ugly wink hub.

Similar Threads

  1. Smart bridge device limit
    By malba2366 in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12-18-2014, 12:49 PM
  2. Best shading solution for 8 foot tall 6 foot wide sliding glass door?
    By schalliol in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-05-2014, 09:17 PM
  3. Incorrect Device Detected
    By Brian P in forum Troubleshooting - RA2
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-19-2014, 11:18 AM
  4. Updating Device Firmware
    By SDR-Mike in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-22-2014, 11:35 AM
  5. Device Wattage not supported
    By Anna W. in forum Troubleshooting - RA2
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-28-2013, 09:40 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •