Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Edison Style LED Bulb with Caseta C.L. Dimmer

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    5

    Edison Style LED Bulb with Caseta C.L. Dimmer

    Hey folks,

    I tried out one of those fancy new Edison Style LED bulbs with my Caseta dimmer yesterday. It didn't quite work right. With a Phillips bulb on the same circuit, it was functional, but without the Phillips bulb, it flashed constantly. I made a video about it on youtube: http://youtu.be/VWbYcRhlZTI?list=UUG...rBdaEBZCH9YRbQ (Skip to 5:05 to see the flashing.)

    Is there any way to update the firmware on these dimmers so these bulbs work properly?

    --
    Jesse
    CreateThis.com

  2. #2
    That type of bulb is interesting. Do you only have 1 or have you tried 2?

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by az1324 View Post
    That type of bulb is interesting. Do you only have 1 or have you tried 2?
    Just one so far. I ordered three different brands via Amazon and this was the first to arrive. I'll try it inline with the others when they arrive and report back.

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by az1324 View Post
    That type of bulb is interesting. Do you only have 1 or have you tried 2?
    I received two other brands of these Edison style LED bulbs a couple of days ago. I tested them with the bulb in the video. Same results. One bulb did stay on continuously, rather than flash, but none of them were dimmable without the phillips bulb inline.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by createthis View Post
    I received two other brands of these Edison style LED bulbs a couple of days ago. I tested them with the bulb in the video. Same results. One bulb did stay on continuously, rather than flash, but none of them were dimmable without the phillips bulb inline.
    Have you tried adding an incandescent bulb in parallel to this fixture as a test? If it works with that connected, Lutron does sell a synthetic light load. It adds a constant resistance to the load to help the dimmer perform better. I have had to add resistance on several of my LED light circuits to get them to stop flickering. So far it has worked every time.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by waslost1 View Post
    Have you tried adding an incandescent bulb in parallel to this fixture as a test? If it works with that connected, Lutron does sell a synthetic light load. It adds a constant resistance to the load to help the dimmer perform better. I have had to add resistance on several of my LED light circuits to get them to stop flickering. So far it has worked every time.
    Yes, it does work with an incandescent. This synthetic light load... how many watts does it draw? I'm curious how much it would negate the efficiency of the LEDs.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    4

    Lightbulb

    Quote Originally Posted by createthis View Post
    Yes, it does work with an incandescent. This synthetic light load... how many watts does it draw? I'm curious how much it would negate the efficiency of the LEDs.
    It is somewhere in the 10 watt area if I recall correctly. If you are handy with Ohms law you can calculate out what you want and build your own as I did. I just used a 25Watt 1.5kOhm resistor. Note the wattage of the resistor is the maximum it can handle, not what it consumes. This resistor consumes about 10 watts when the lights are at full brightness. Ohms law will show you that as you dim the lights, the consumption will diminish so in reality, the load is minimal if you often use the lights dimmed. Just make sure you understand, 10 watts can start a fire. It will get hot! Make sure you locate this somewhere that can dissipate the heat into the air and not into your walls. Lutron makes a nice unit that has big heat sinks on it and is set up for a typical consumer who does not want to engineer their own solution. Good luck.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    4
    The Lutron synthetic load information can be found here. Sorry, I forgot to post that earlier.
    http://www.lutron.com/TechnicalDocum.../LUT-LBX-1.pdf

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    1
    I have 3 Edison bulbs running successfully in my dining room so it may be something with the circuit. Did you ever test it with additional loading?

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    5

    Lightbulb

    Quote Originally Posted by Nickolaus View Post
    I have 3 Edison bulbs running successfully in my dining room so it may be something with the circuit. Did you ever test it with additional loading?
    In the first video, I tried it with another LED bulb known to work. It worked fine that way. Later, I tried two other brands I found online. None worked. Time passed.

    A few days ago I was shopping for plumbing parts in a local box store and saw an LED Edison on the shelf. Took it home and tested it. Seems to work fine all by itself. Here's the video review:
    https://youtu.be/tSEekpmsNnM

    Seems like some bulbs just defeat the Lutron Caseta "auto detect" routine. Not sure how, but it's pretty clear it happens. Shrug.

  11. Thanks asherrick thanked for this post
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Maestro occupancy dimmer doesn't turn off LED bulb.
    By Bracket in forum Troubleshooting - Controls
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 03-28-2017, 12:57 PM
  2. Adjustable fade rates for Caseta dimmer?
    By Jacob in forum Programming - CAS
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 02-24-2017, 01:47 PM
  3. Can you Program a Caseta Dimmer?
    By DougTFC in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-08-2015, 09:29 AM
  4. Caseta in-wall wireless Dimmer will not go in to pairing mode
    By dan2016 in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-28-2014, 11:01 AM
  5. Cant see Designer Style Kepads in software
    By Michaelwake in forum Troubleshooting - HWQS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-19-2014, 09:30 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •