Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: selection and installation of Grafik Eye system

selection and installation of Grafik Eye system

Hello Forum,

I am a graduate art student working on a project where I'd like to incorporate dimming lighting control. I emailed Lutron customer support who suggested the Grafik Eye system as well as consulting members of this forum for advice and information.

I would like to have the ability for the room's lighting to dim then rise again to full brightness automatically in continuous cycles (approximately 10 to 15 minute cycles) at an almost imperceptible level.

The only lighting is fluorescent. There are 12, 4' x 2' individual lighting units installed in a 8' drop ceiling. The room is 25' x 30'. There are 10 electric outlets. No windows. With the door closed there is near total darkness.

Again, I am looking for a system that:

1. works with fluorescent lighting
    2. will dim and rise nearly imperceptibly in continuous 10-15 minute cycles

My question is what specific Grafik Eye system(s) might work for me. Also, if anyone has any thoughts or information related to my project (difficulty of installation or anything really) I would appreciate that very much!

Ben

The min dimming level for fluorescent lighting is ~ 10%.
    In order to dim fluorescent lighting, you'd need to have replace the existing ballasts with dimmable ballasts.

The following should be helpful.
    http://www.lutron.com/technicaldocum...606_fds_tg.pdf

If the lighting level is cycling with a minimum period of 10 minutes, you might be better off replacing the existing fluorescent troffers with LED ones (they are inherently dimmable, with dimming characteristics similar to fluorescent)

Authorized Lutron Contributor