Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Will Lutron app & Caseta system work with a router but no internet?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    2

    Will Lutron app & Caseta system work with a router but no internet?

    I am bench testing this and it seems to not work. I connected and "registered the system" and logged in. I can see and control the lights. I then disconnect the internet from the router and I can no longer control the lights because when I start the app it asks me to login.

    So even if I have a router and the bridge pro connected, and I am connected to the router with my phone, I can not control my lights within the app?

    Eric Schneider

  2. #2
    It will work if you set up and use third party app irule. Not ideal, I know.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    2
    I found a quote from 6 months ago (end of June), where it was said that local control is coming. I assume this means you wouldn't need internet access to use the app within the home. My Boss needs this now. Ugh.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    396
    Quote Originally Posted by tun6twista View Post
    I found a quote from 6 months ago (end of June), where it was said that local control is coming. I assume this means you wouldn't need internet access to use the app within the home. My Boss needs this now. Ugh.
    tun6twista,

    Unfortunately, local access is currently not available on the Lutron App. The Smart Bridge currently requires an Internet connect to use the Lutron App.

    Local access is still a feature that is coming to the Lutron App and Smart Bridge. We do not have a current time frame of when it will be released.

    Thank you for your feedback. It has been passed along to the Caseta Wireless Development team.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    252
    Quote Originally Posted by Kevin P. View Post
    Local access is still a feature that is coming to the Lutron App and Smart Bridge.
    Glad to hear it is coming. Kevin, would that future update also include a way to extract information from the bridge? The current way to do it through the app is not user friendly at all.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    396
    Quote Originally Posted by veeeh View Post
    Glad to hear it is coming. Kevin, would that future update also include a way to extract information from the bridge? The current way to do it through the app is not user friendly at all.
    veeeh,

    The integration information will still need to be sent from inside the Lutron App.

    Thank you for that feedback. I will pass it along to the Caseta Wireless development team.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    2
    I watched a Lutron rep demo the Caseta system. She was able to do everything. After I looked at her setup I asked where was she tied into the internet. She told me she was not. So there is a way to use the app with a router not connected to the internet.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    252
    Might be true for the demo, but not so in real life.

    In real life, with the latest Caseta app (version 1.3), once it loses connection to the internet, it goes into that dreaded "Connecting..." / "Retry?" loop, and takes real long time to recover. Sometimes it is easier to logout and login again (if you have a short and easy password).

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by veeeh View Post
    Might be true for the demo, but not so in real life.

    In real life, with the latest Caseta app (version 1.3), once it loses connection to the internet, it goes into that dreaded "Connecting..." / "Retry?" loop, and takes real long time to recover. Sometimes it is easier to logout and login again (if you have a short and easy password).
    I see what you are talking about. Next time I see her I will disconnect her router and turn back on to see if same thing happens.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    11
    Confirming Caseta local control. I can start the Lutron app on my iPhone and it will connect to the hub without an internet connection. The hub and iPhone are on the same network.

Similar Threads

  1. Suggestions on how to integrate a split-system ductless HVAC system with RadioRA2
    By RA2-Designer-Gal in forum Design Assistance - RA2
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-10-2017, 11:43 AM
  2. Remote Access - Verizon ActionTec Router
    By Ty W. in forum Troubleshooting - RA2
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-15-2015, 09:45 AM
  3. Deleting Dimmers or switches from Caseta system?
    By ntwkdsnr in forum General Discussion - CAS
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-09-2014, 07:08 PM
  4. Audio System Conrtrol Via Lutron HWQS
    By domino in forum 3rd-party Integration - HWQS
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-09-2014, 12:37 PM
  5. Remote Access - Verizon ActionTec Router
    By Ty W. in forum Troubleshooting - HWQS
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-11-2013, 08:21 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •