Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: RRD-H6BL and PHPM-PA-120 for LED Dimming

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    15

    RRD-H6BL and PHPM-PA-120 for LED Dimming

    Is it possible to use both together to dim LED since the RRD-H6BL currently can't?

    Have customers who control the load of Incandescent today and they want it to be a LED now. LED is only 20watt total so doesn't meet the minimum. Not really what to do but looks like my only solution.

    Thanks,

    John

  2. Likes dvpvic liked this post
  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    338
    Quote Originally Posted by jfbordenjr View Post
    Is it possible to use both together to dim LED since the RRD-H6BL currently can't?

    Have customers who control the load of Incandescent today and they want it to be a LED now. LED is only 20watt total so doesn't meet the minimum. Not really what to do but looks like my only solution.

    Thanks,

    John
    I think you have a few options, LUT-LBX or maybe just a 6ND. I wouldn't try the PHPM-PA-120 first unless you had one just sitting around.

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    3
    In the case of dimming LED's when using the Hybrid Keypad, I'm Unsure weather its necessary to use both the PHPM-PA in conjuntion with the RRD-H6BRL. It is unlikely the load will reach/exceed 450W because the fixtures are all LED's however the design software is requiring the Phase Adaptive Module be used in conjunction with all Hybrid Keypads.
    Is it truly necessary to need the PHPM-PA with each Hybrid Keypad?
    Paul


    Quote Originally Posted by jfbordenjr View Post
    Is it possible to use both together to dim LED since the RRD-H6BL currently can't?

    Have customers who control the load of Incandescent today and they want it to be a LED now. LED is only 20watt total so doesn't meet the minimum. Not really what to do but looks like my only solution.

    Thanks,

    John

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    252
    Quote Originally Posted by avedinc View Post
    Is it truly necessary to need the PHPM-PA with each Hybrid Keypad?
    No. It's not always needed.

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by veeeh View Post
    No. It's not always needed.
    Thank you Veeeh, so how can I determine if I will or will not need the PHPM-PA?

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    252
    There are two things to keep in mind. First is you need to hit the minimum wattage, which is 15W with neutral. Second is you should know that maximum wattage for LEDs is much less that what it is for incandescents, so instead of 450W top you shouldn't count on more that 100W.

    And the last one, always test your dimmer/LED combination before you sell it someone. Even if it is on the "approved" list, since approval process is not always accounting for such things such as excessive noise or some flickering.

  8. Thanks dvpvic thanked for this post

Similar Threads

  1. Can I put to PHPM-PA-120-WH on to a RRD-10D dimmer?
    By RA2-Designer-Gal in forum Design Assistance - RA2
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-23-2017, 04:41 PM
  2. Help needed! 1000 Watts LEDs on RRD-10ND - do I need a PHPM-PA?
    By RA2-Designer-Gal in forum Design Assistance - RA2
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-28-2014, 11:11 PM
  3. Non Dimming Load
    By Strat201 in forum Design Assistance - RA2
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-14-2014, 08:00 AM
  4. Best LED Pot Light Retrofits for dimming
    By gwaites in forum General Discussion - RA2
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-03-2014, 06:47 PM
  5. Define an Output on a Dimming Module as On/Off Only?
    By David Haddad in forum Programming - HWQS
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-07-2013, 10:39 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •